blog post · food · health · lifestyle · recipes · smoothies

Strawberry Coconut Smoothie Bowl

IMG_1471

Hey friends!

Ever wondered how you can eat ice cream for breakfast? Well, I wondered that too before I started experimenting with smoothie bowls!

Smoothie bowls are not only super easy to make, they are a great way to start your day! Depending on what ingredients you add, they are filled with loads of antioxidants, healthy fats and vitamins!

Smoothie bowls are definitely one of my favorite breakfasts, and creating new combinations and recipes is always fun:)

Click The Ultimate Berry Smoothie Bowl and/or Chocolate Blueberry Banana Smoothie for more delicious smoothie bowl recipes!

So, like most experiments this strawberry coconut bowl has a story behind it- it was accidental!

A few days ago I ran out of peanut butter. I know, I know how could I let that happen?! But it happened and I haven’t had any time to go grocery shopping!

This morning I was craving all the healthy fats, and when I went in the pantry I happily saw my unrefined coconut oil! I grabbed it and decided to make a yummy strawberry coconut smoothie bowl.

This smoothie was sweet, creamy and the perfect breakfast for a hot and humid Friday!

IMG_1473

INGREDIENTS

8-10 whole frozen strawberries

1 cup frozen cauliflower

Vanilla or chocolate protein powder, optional, I used chocolate because, duh, chocolate and protein!

Cinnamon, to taste, optional

1/2-1 tablespoon unrefined coconut oil

1/2-1 cup liquid, (coconut water, unsweetened non-dairy milk, water, etc.) I used unsweetened almond-coconut milk.

Toppings: granola, cacao nibs, coconut, nuts or seeds, etc.

DIRECTIONS

Add the frozen strawberries and cauliflower to the blender.

Next, add the liquid.

After the liquid it’s time to add the cinnamon, protein powder and coconut oil.

Blend! If needed, add a little bit more liquid at a time. Be careful, too much liquid will make it into a smoothie!

Once the smoothie is fully blended, scoop it out into a bowl and top it with your desired toppings!

I used raw oats and Sunfood Superfoods cacao nibs. Click here to check out their delicious and nutritious superfood powders, smoothie mixes and more! Use code  36P3L6U6 at checkout.

Normally, I would have used homemade granola (recipe: Quick and Easy Low-Sugar Granola) but I ate it all. Also, I would have added on coconut shreds to enhance the coconut flavor if I had them! I really need to go grocery shopping huh?

I have to admit, I ate this smoothie so fast because it was so good, and I was pleasantly surprised with the nice flavor the coconut oil added to it!

If you make this smoothie bowl- which you totally should- let me know how you like it! Also, feel free to tag me on Instagram or shoot me an email!

Don’t forget to subscribe and follow so you get notified of new posts!

Have an awesome Friday!!

XO

LeeAnn

 

 

Leave a comment