blog post · breakfast recipes · food · health · recipes · smoothies

Cantaloupe and Cream Sorbet Smoothie

IMG_2356[1]

Did I ever tell you that summertime is my favorite time? No? Well, I just did!

I absolutely love summer, and there are loads of reasons for this: no school, warm and sunny weather, more time, farmers markets… the list goes on! But today and for my few next posts I’ll be focusing on the food!

Every year as summer rolls in I get ready to load my stomach up on blueberries, then a month later pick peaches and nectarines to the gazillion and pick up zucchinis and tomatoes and cucumbers on the side of the road. (I keep telling my parents that we are having a garden next year… I just need to get them on board! )

Since I missed blueberry season this year while I was in Italy, I’ve decided to make some not-so-blue fresh fruit recipes!

Currently, my house is home to 30 pounds of peaches and nectarines, and probably another 10 pounds of cantaloupe. And me, who is brainstorming yummy new recipes! Oh, and I guess I can’t forget about my parents and sister…

Anyways, the first recipe I made was this creamy, cantaloupe sorbet- you had to have guessed the first recipe would be a smoothie bowl!

Let’s talk about cantaloupe for a second-

  • Cantaloupe has a high water content so it helps keep you hydrated on those hot, sunny summer days
  • It contains antioxidants, one of them is zeaxanthin
  • Since cantaloupe is orange, it has beta-carotene
  • It contains potassium, vitamin C and many other vitamins and minerals that your body needs

Cantaloupe, like all fruits, is great for your body!!

When I cut into the first cantaloupe I saw that it was super ripe and a little too soft, so of course I froze half of it right away! I wasn’t too sure what I was going tot do with it, but I give my experiment 100%.

IMG_2360[1]

To make this yummy Cantaloupe and Cream Sorbet Smoothie all you need is

  • 2 cups frozen cantaloupe, my chunks were quite large so the cup wasn’t packed
  • 1 cup frozen cauliflower
  • ~1 cup unsweetened nondairy milk, add it a little bit at a time because you might not need it all
  • 1 tsp. maca powder, optional
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder, I used Vega
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract
  • a dash of pure maple syrup, depending on the sweetness of the melon and how sweet you want the smoothie
  • toppings: cacao nibs, coconut, granola, fruit, anything you’d like!

Add all of the ingredients into the blender (except toppings) in the order listed. Blend until it becomes a uniform consistency. Scoop it out into a bowl and top with your desired toppings!

IMG_2398[1]

The first time I made it I used shredded coconut and a piece of diced cantaloupe, the coconut added a yummy tropical flavor! The second time I topped it with cacao nibs and shredded coconut, these two as toppings work so well with this combo!

If you liked this recipe, make sure to subscribe so you can get notified when I post more delicious summer recipes!

Also, don’t forget to let me know if you make it and feel free to send me a photo!

 

Untitled design1

One thought on “Cantaloupe and Cream Sorbet Smoothie

Leave a comment